The Republic of the Union of Myanmar

Product/Service Information

The National Education Policy Commission (NEPC) is a statutory body established by the National Education Law 2014 and the National Education Law Amendment 2015 to provide policies n education for the promotion of national development.

It was formed on 28 September 2016 with 21 members who are academics and educationista form various sectors of education with deep knowledge and extensive experience in their respective fields.


To be an institution providing effective policies on education for the sustainable development of Myanmar.


  • To provide practical education policies for the attainment of natinal education objectives.
  • To examine and advice ways and means of achieving a quality education equally accessible to all.
  • To provice policy recommendations for Myanmar education to achieve international standards to achieve international standards and develop human resources for a knowledge based economy and society.

National Education Policy Commission (NEPC)

Primary Functions

  • Setting national education objectives and formulating national education policies.
  • Evaluating the functioning of the education system, the inplementation of education policies, programmes and projects, and making suggestions for their improvement.

National Curriculum Committee (NCC)

The National Curriculum Committee (NCC) was formed on November 2016 with 15 members who are curriculum specialists with great experience.

Primary Functions

  • Developing curricula of international standards to meet the needs of national development and nurture good citizens.
  • Making continual review of curricula to keep them in line with internatinal trends and natinal education policies.

National Accreditation and Quality Assurance Committee (NAQAC)

The National Accreditation and Quality Assurance Committee was formed 16 January, 2017. It is composed of 20 members with high expertise in the quality assurance of education. Primary Functions

  • Developing and implementing a comprehensive quality assurance system in education.
  • Assessing and providing accreditation to educational institutions and programmes.

Rectors’ Committee (RC)

The Rectors’ Committee, formed on 6 April, 2018 has as members all Rectors and Principals of public higher education institutions.
The Rectors’ Committee has a Central Committee of 44 members and a Central Executive Committee of 15 members elected from among its members.

Primary Functions

  • Coordinating the affairs of higher education institutions on the basis of policies laid down by the NEPC.
  • Helping to enhance the quality of teaching, research and management in higher education institutions.
  • Giving guidance to higher education institutions in the transition to autonomy.
  • Providing advice to higher education institutions for increasing revenues to support their development.